Developing an NFT

Developing an NFT

Research

After some more research I came to see that Cardano was maybe not the best blockchain to build upon because the docs weren't that easy to follow. So I quickly started to explore different routes. I stumbled upon a new crypto called Solana.

Solana

Proof of Stake is also used on the Solana blockchain, which again makes it more eco-friendly and thus more ethical to use.

Solana has had smart contract support for a much longer time. These are called programs in the Solana ecosystem. I also found Metaplex, a set of tools that makes it easier to upload your NFTs to marketplaces. It also has a thing called The Candy Machine which is a small library that can be used to upload NFT data onto the Solana blockchain.

Requirements

For this project I will be needing Node.js, a wallet (I will be using Phantom.app), a code editor, an engine to create the NFTs, Metaplex' candy machine.

Rust

Solana was written in Rust, a type language that has been booming for the last few years and I have been wanting to learn Rust for a little time now and this has been the best reason to get into this. That is why I will be creating my own NFT generation engine and not a pre-built one.